IELTS Task 2: Fewer and fewer people are walking these days

4. Walking is known to be beneficial for health and yet fewer and fewer people are walking these days.

What are the reasons for this? What can be done to tackle this problem?

The way people travel to different places, today, has been shifted from that in the past. In spite of offering health advantages, walking has less intensity to be chosen by people now. Several indicators which affect this trend will be analysed through this essay. In addition, particular measurements will also be explained.

The first point is that individuals need convenient and confortable way to commute to their destinations. For instance, they prefer to drive their private cars. Although, today, public transports are well-established, people still use their private vehicles to go to bus or train stations. The second is, there is a lack of local government awareness of the save sidewalk facilities. Now, pavements for pedestrian in big cities, like Jakarta, have been changed to be a shop line. Moreover, in many places where people go frequently, such as offices, universities, and shopping centres, escalators have been built replacing the stairs. Thus, these factors make clear that people nowadays tend to walk less.

The solutions concerning this issue should be undertaken. Firstly, local authority should establish a rule to raise the parking price. An example of this is can be showed from the success of Mumbai law makers in India to reduce its car numbers due to expensive parking price implementation. With this, people have a tendency to abandon their cars and go on foot. Secondly, regarding sidewalks problem, the government should offer strict punishment to get rid of shoppers or retailers who do their business in sidewalks. For instance, violators should be subject to the threat of imprisonment of at least one year and a maximum of or a fine of 20,000,000 IDR or equivalent to $2,000.

In conclusion, several points causing a decrease in walking are explained. However, there are possible breakthroughs to overcome this matter.