IELTS GT WRITING TASK 2: there are fewer youngsters receiving news from newspapers and TV.

Hi all! I'm practicing the writing task 2 (General training) on the following topic:

In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV.

What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Grateful for your comments and advise me the approach of writing a short conclusion in this type of topic. Many thanks in advance.

It is noticeable that there are fewer youngsters receiving news from newspapers and TV. Researchers and stakeholders in broadcasting sector are interested to seek the causes of the trend and explore any solution for this.

In the age of information explosion, there are more sources of getting news online, especially live news could be easily broadcast with various online platforms. Thus, this may cause fewer viewers of newspapers and TV. In addition, the reading habit of young generation has been changed from reading long passages on papers to finding instant visually attractive posts from online platforms. Other than the shift of receiving channels, there is a specific reason for young people in my city not choosing newspapers and TV as reliable sources of news. The printed and broadcasting media in my city presents biased news very often while there are more perspectives of the news could be found online. Therefore, it affects the credibility of those media and fewer people are willing to trust these sources of news.

In order to survive from the competition with internet, the media should have more investments on digital world, not only the e-marketing, but also live broadcasting on the internet, to reach the greater mass of the audience. One of the most successful online media in my region has invested a lot in manpower and hardware for live broadcasting. In this connection, that media is able to cover most of the immediate happenings in different locations in a very prompt way during this socially unrest moment. Furthermore, newspaper and TV channels could focus on the other approach that excels themselves from other online news platforms. If the media is unable to have extra resources on online platforms, it might be a good choice to reallocate the resources to focus on more in-depth analysis on specific topics. Live broadcasting and online visually attractive posts could only provide a glimpse of the events, but not the analysis of deep root cause. For example, 20/20 in the USA showcases how an excellent analysis type of news programme could survive in this furious competition.