Fiction and non-fiction books - which of these two types of books do you generally prefer to read?

Toefl independent task, need help with my essay please..

The prompt,

Books can be divided intow two main types: fiction ( novels and stories) and non-fiction (histories, biographies, and self-helped books, for example).

Which of these two types of books do you generally prefer to read...

My essay,

Some people prefer to read imaginary books such as novels and stories while others prefer to read factual-based books like historical and scintific books. Personally speaking, I prefer to read the first type. In this essay I will explore in details my preference.

To begin with, fictional books are not tought in schools. Most schools coriculum focuses on topics about sciences, arts and so on. Therefore, students get used to these books and need to read another kind of texts. For instance, when I was in six grade, my father father gave me a short Arabic story" Al-Sendbad". This story was different from what I read at school, so I told all of my friends about and lent it to some of them too. This way I became intersted reading stories and novels.

Another reason why I prefer fictional books is that they introduce us to new ideas we may never think about. Fantasy and imaginary books cross the boundries of our lnature and life. For example, the idea of Alliens- creatures living in the space, was first mentioned in a story book in the mid sextith of the last century. This story illustrated how men annovated a new kind of jets that can help in protecting the earth from those creatures. After reading this story some people in Canda and USA reported seeing them. Also, engineer designed a new gets that can fight more efficentlly. It is clearely that fictional books broaden our imagination and make us more creative.

Last but not least, fictional books are exciting to read. I remember reading a historical book about Palstine. In fact, I found this book boring and that I read only two chapters of it in weeks. However, when I read the story of "Slah Al-Deen", who was a famous palstine leader, I was so much exciting that I finished reading this 623 pages novel on one night. As a result, now, whenevr I want to learn about the history of any country, I read a story about some of its prominent leaders.

To conclude with, fictional books are my favorit kind of books. Because, they are not learned in school, they introduce us to new ideas we may never think about, and most importantly, they are more intersting to read. Therefore, if you do not read fictional books, start reading some now. Definately, you will find the amazement I found reading them.