The figure for imprisonment in five different developed countries in a fifty-year period, from 1930

A breakdown of the information about the figure for imprisonment in five different developed countries in a fifty-year period, started in 1930 measured in thousands is shown in the bar chart. Overall, despite the fluctuate alternations, United States of America and Canada arrested more criminals between 1930 and 1980. While the others number of imprisonment remained below.

Initially, the number of Canadian imprisonment broke the record as the highest one. It was followed by USA and New Zealand at the same value, around 100,000. However, in a five-decade period USA took over Canada's record and around 140,000 criminals had been arrested and sentenced. Meanwhile the others was below a hundred thousand.

In addition, despite the fluctuate alternation in most countries, a gradual increase in the number of imprisonment was seen in Great Britain decade by decade. In the end of timeframe, only Australia which had the lowest number punished no more than 60,000 offenders.