IELTS 2: Financial and social status Vs Old-fashioned values

Nowadays, a person's worth seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour kindness, and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the current era, a person's success is evaluated based on his or her level of social influence and financial ability. Whereas traditional virtues, such as integrity, generosity, and reliability, are being neglected. Although financial and social status require discipline and dedication, I believe other characteristics should also be considered to ensure a moral society.

It is understandable for people to regard individuals' success based on their influence and monetary ability because such achievement is highly prized for a person's high intensity of persistence and personal sacrifice, which are worthy of praise. This is present among well-known athletes, such as Ronaldo and Messi, who gain social recognition and astronomical financial rewards through discipline and dedication. However, with the presence of social media, society is led to faulty perceptions, to achieve fame and wealth regardless of their actions, which has resulted in unethical behaviors. One typical example is social influencers on social platforms nowadays using their fame to convince and entice their audience into buying low-quality or even fake products just to gain personal income.

On the other hand, I believe valuable virtues such as honor, kindness, and trust should also be considered and promoted for their vitality in our community. These highly valued characteristics have long existed, as humans are social creatures, surviving by cooperating and coexisting in groups. Therefore, being honest, kind, and trustworthy helps individuals to blend in with society and attain higher, grander goals. These virtues are standardized in organizations in Japan, typically Japanese airlines, which are renowned for their integrity, hospitality, and reliability, as they continuously deliver state-of-the-art service and products, living up to their claims.

In conclusion, even though it requires an extravagant amount of dedication and discipline to achieve financial and social status, people should not overemphasize and be obsessed with this pursuit, as it might result in unethical and selfish actions. On the contrary, people should instead return to human's core values such as kindness, generosity, and integrity to acquire societal and long-term success.