IELTS: Financial success enables individuals to acquire a comfortable and relaxing life

1. Some people think that personal happiness is directly related to economic success. Others argue that happiness depends on different factors. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

With the incredible economic growth has significantly improved people's living standards in recent decades, some start to believe that a happy life is mainly base on a solid economic foundation. However, others claim that other factors should also be taken into account. 42

It is accepted that financial success enables individuals to acquire a comfortable and relaxing life, in which a sense of joyful enormously enhanced. When bearing a heavy financial pressure, people rarely have the ability to develop their own interest. In contrast, wealthy ones have a freedom to do what they preferred as money is no longer a top issue. In addition, the possession of economic wealth elevates a person's cheerful feeling, as it is an essential part of self-fulfilment. The huge amount of fortune is not only recognition of an individual's hardworking but also a reward for their great talents and strong will. 103

However, happiness is constituted by other non-monetary related components. Firstly, a health body is a prerequisite to achieve a enjoyable life. If some people were unwell in bed for years, they could neither appreciate scenic views around the world nor taste delicious food of nations. In this case, these individuals are unlikely to become the happy ones. Secondly, a harmonious and close relationship with friends and families makes contribution to happiness. This is because that support and care from their beloved ones enable them to dispel negative feelings and have a positive attitude towards future life. 96

In conclusion, it is convincing financial strength can be regarded as a factor to achieve a happy life. However, other elements such as physical well-being and family affection should also be indispensable supplements. 33 / 274