'Financially a better choice' - Rogerian Argumental essay On Wal-Mart

Instructions:

1. Introduce the issue and describe the position taken by the "opposition" in a way that they would believe is fair.

2. Discuss what is valid and what is invalid in their position. Are there contexts and conditions in which there position would be more useful than others? You cannot completely reject their position.

3. Make a careful transition into your own position, stressing common ground you have found between your position and that of the "opposing" article.

Example: "After careful consideration and examination of both sides, I believe that the theme - -- - - - - - - - - is essentially more significant because..."

4. Explain how the opposition would benefit if they were to accept your argument or at least aspects of your point of view.

5. Present the evidence that supports your viewpoints

My essay:

The United States' largest retail corporation is Wal-Mart, due to its extremely low prices and large variety of goods and products. Like for any big corporation there's always law suites and accusations against it; for a variety of reasons, may they be financial, reputational, valid or even not. Such accusations include: not enough payment to overseas workers, part-time workers not getting benefits, not giving back to the community, and so on. However, when looking more precisely at the stated reasons, one may conclude that they fall into a broad spectrum of involving most large businesses or corporations.

Wal-Mart was accused of not paying enough for the overseas workers; however most large companies in the United States such as Best Buy, General Motors, Coco-Cola, and a lot more also encounter similar situations, so what makes Wal-Mart more susceptible for this accusation, but not the other companies?

Another issue that arises against Wal-Mart is that their part time workers do not get benefits; however most companies that hire part time workers also do not offer any benefits. Karen and Brad claim, "But Wal-Mart in not unlike any other retailer in the respect that it, for the most part, provides jobs and no careers" (632). There are many other companies that have no benefits for their workers and Wal-Mart is one of them. It is very hard to find a job that will not require a high school diploma or a college degree. It would be good if workers who work at Wal-Mart would have benefits, but people shouldn't forget that Wal-Mart has already given a big

opportunity to accept everyone who desires to work.

Not giving back to the community was another very unreasonable accusation towards Wal-Mart. But when looking into their community giving programs, there are actually a lot of community services and contributions that Wal-Mart contributed to. The Wal-Mart Foundation funds many educational organizations such as college and schools, and also provides many scholarships and financial help for young people to be more successful in life. Sometimes people don't really want to know from where or from whom they got their financial grant as far as it's there in their mail box. Maybe Wal-Mart is giving back to community, but we might not know that, or never cared about that.

Although there are many accusations against Wal-Mart, I believe that they are invalid and refutable, and Wal-Mart is better choice for an average American financially. So as these accusations are closely analyzed, one may conclude that these imputations are not so valid and can't apply to Wal-Mart alone. Because Wal-Mart's prices are lower than the average retailer's stores, it attracts a lot more customers and in the end result makes a lot more profit than its competitors. Being so inexpensive it is beneficial for low income families to shop there, and of course that creates problems for neighboring companies that compete in business; therefore, law suites and accusations start arising.