'Finding my Mother' - TITLE BASED ON "A MEMORABLE DAY"

1. A memorable Day

I would like to invite others to learn about the best day of my life. Some of my family members may feel differently and hold some animosity towards the situation, nevertheless, this day will always be one the most meaningful day I have ever experienced.

In the year of 2011, one summer day, I decided to do research to see if I can find more information on my missing mother of ten years. My mother disappeared in the year of 2001. In a website for missing people I found additional facts about our mother. Feeling confident about the information that I received from the website, I urged my fiancé to take a weekend trip with me to follow up on the information that was given. My husband and I were very excited and looking forward to the trip that we both made arrangements to leave as soon as possible

My mother is a hard-working and caring person. She always went out of her way to help others. My father was an abusive drug addict who complicated our lives in many ways; as a result, my mother was left to maintain most of the household chores and pay most of the bills. In addition, having eight children kept her very busy. No matter what situation she encountered, my mother always had a pleasant smile on her face. She seemed to consistently have an inviting aura about her anytime she walked into a room.

During our trip, my fiancé and I talked about the possibility of returning home without finding my mother. After an eighteen hour drive, we arrived at our destination tired yet excited. Due to work obligations, we had only one day and a half to search for my mother before having to go back home. We parked the car and began walking towards the address given. I quickly became nervous and my heart began to pound faster. Realizing that I had not prepared myself for the unexpected outcome of finding my mother, I then asked my fiancé to knock on the door while I hid. He knocked on the door and no one answered. Nervously laughing at the thought of having to hide, we decided to walk the neighborhood and asked if they recognized her name. My fiancé did most of the talking. We searched all morning and early afternoon and came up with nothing but dead end leads. Although we have spoken to a few people, the neighborhood was quiet and deserted. Exhausted and hungry we retired back to the suite. Around mid-afternoon we returned to the neighborhood and saw that it was more active. People were driving by in cars, riding bikes and walking their dogs. Disappointment filled my heart as the sun was going down, and the darkness began to occupy the sky. While talking to another neighbor, who did not recognize my mother by name, my fiancé showed him a picture of my mother. The neighbor claimed he knows her but that she does not go by that name. My fiancé and I became noticeably excited. The neighbor pointed toward the house while showing concern. We headed to the house, and as we got closer we noticed someone pulling up in a car by the house. Not being able to see well, we slowly kept walking as if we were strolling by. Recognizing my mother, and with a surprised look on her face I suddenly began to cry. Confused and obviously unsure of how to react my mother began crying. We hugged and cried until we both were able to collect our feelings and thoughts enough for her to invite me in to her home. The feeling was indescribable. My mother introduced me and my fiancé to her new husband and we all began to catch up. We talked for hours, showed pictures and cried some more. The four of us made plans to have lunch together for the following day. That night was the first night I felt alive. This has been an amazing experience for us all. Before finally falling asleep, my fiancé and I talked about how extraordinary that day turned out to be. The next day we had lunch as planned. After lunch, we all walked at a nearby park where my mother explained the reason for her leaving. The hardship she has endured from her siblings and my father were so overwhelming that she decided to take control of her life to find herself.

My mother leaving was difficult to deal with; however, finding her was the best moment of my life. We exchanged our contact information and promised to keep in touch. My fiancé and I returned home excited to spread the news to the family. Consequently, sharing this information caused conflict due to my mothers' reason for being absent. My mother and her husband made plans to visit for the holidays that year. We were so excited that we decorated the entire house and sent out invitations. On the day of her arrival, it seemed like all was forgiven and the house was crowded with everyone anxiously waiting. When she finally arrived, watching everyone in that moment of reuniting, felt like they were beginning a new life. That whole week was filled with happiness, laughter, and home cooked meals. My mother and I have talked every weekend since the first day we reconnected. I will always be there for her.