My First Essay- The Chrysalids (Re-Birth in US Version)

The Bible: 962 Pages of Delusion

Lily Tran

"I killed a man it's not my fault he was sent by the Devil" A quote of a stuttering man that begins the new world full of excuses and mistakes. To be stamped a freak would an individual feel despair of hope? The Chrysalids, a novel by John Wyndham is a story of despair, despair where mistakes from the past is exerted into the future. Humans in the novel use alibis to excuse them from their offenses, and blame the ones that can not defend themselves. The characters all suffer due to the judgment and unacceptance that lead them to death or suicide in the future . Emotions of anguish and hopelessness a novel filled with despair.

"Without remembering the past, [you] are condemned to repeat it." -George Santayana. Hypocrisy destroys the morals that God once had built but the walls were devoured by the ignorant humans. When Rosalind and the "think-together" people heard from David about Sophie they pushed her aside, because of mutation, and ignored her acknowledgement. "...wrestled with the novel idea that a Deviation might not be disgusting and evil..." (53) [David] The "think-together" people and many people of the population want the world to accept them but cannot accept the world as God intended it to be. Discrimination and prejudice are looked down upon in the past but are in everyday reality. Joseph, David's father, alike a priest in the new world does many sacrifices for god. ""As the sun rose we would sing a hymn while my father ceremoniously slaughtered the two-headed calf, four-legged chicken, or whatever other kind of Offence it happened to be. Sometimes it would be a much queerer thing than those..." (98) Hypocrites will always make excuses to cover up their guilt.

Excuses used by children to cover up a fault are also used by grown men and women. Ignorance is full of corruptions; many humans use that as an advantage to exploit the blindness of many people. "God" the holy man, can lead to misunderstandings. When a text is taken literally from the bible it can kill more than it can save. "ONLY THE IMAGE OF GOD IS MAN." (18) In this following quote, "God is not man, that [he] should lie, or a son of man, that [he] should change [his] mind. Has [he] said, and will [he] not do it? Or has [he] spoken, and will [he] not fulfill it?" (The Bible, Numbers 23:19) If god is the only image of man, and the direct quote from the bible says that god is not man. We cannot change life, or bring miracles therefore; in truth are all humans just blasphemies?

The characters that are enrolled into the story have all suffered from anguish and dashed hopes that consume their lives with despair. Sophie had faith, believed in god and was happy normal girl. A little girl hidden among the trees, parents, and naïve of the real world in anticipation, the reality of the world hit her, toke her away her dreams, her trust in god, and even her only friend. Aunt Harriet was influenced by Waknuks society until the children that Harriet had bared were taken away. "[I] shall pray God to send charity into this hideous world, and sympathy for the weak..." (P73) [Aunt Harriet] Anne wanted to become normal to society, and wanted to be accepted. They all wanted to be accepted but in the end they all died a miserable death.

When futuristic worlds and the future collide only despair can be created, therefore can a person still say, "This book is full of joy and hope."? This novel has false pretenses, god is not to blame but the individuals with immoral opinions are left to blame. "Now this is not the end. It is not even the beginning of the end. But it is, perhaps, the end of the beginning." -Winston Churchill