IELTS Task 2: fixed punishment vs adjustable punishment. discuss

Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others. However, argue that circumstances of an individual crime and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account. Discuss both side and give your opinion

Nowadays, rate of committing crime is progressively increasing throughout the world. However, authorities are looking for solutions to dwindle crime's rate, replacing it with the rise of security in the society. Some people claim that there should be a determined punishment for each crime. While others believe that punishment rules should be flexible and adjustable depends on the situation that the subject was in and the purpose behind it.

On one hand, laws are established to define the framework in which people can freely act in without breaking rules. Since law is one of fundamental bases of a country that introduces discipline and stability to that country, it should be fixed in order to be taken serious. In particular, murder is murder, no matter who has committed the crime or why, he should be punished according to the law. Moreover, if someone thinks of the law as an adjustable element, the possibility that he commits crime will raise.

On the other hand, sometimes a crime may be committed by a person inadvertently. Furthermore, we are not born as a criminal, but if every one of us encounters a critical situation that ceases our ability of thinking, he/she may do something out of rules. Therefore, in such cases authorities should consider the motivation and the circumstance of the crime to mediate the intensity of punishment.

Taking all above in to the account, in my opinion, rules are laid down equally for everyone. However, if individuals be ware of consequences of breaking rules, they will less likely tend to commit crimes. If this trend continues, there is a chance that number of crimes which are committing, decline considerably in the future.