IELTS Writing Task 2: Are fixed punishments necessary? Without considering different circumstances ?

how offenders should be punished?

Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about how offenders should be punished. In my view, I believe that some other aspects of a crime should be considered before agreeing on the punishment.

On the one hand, there is a mixed variety of reasons for imposing fixed punishments on every crime. Firstly, a set of punishment for each crime acts as a precursor to a fair justice system that causes no suspicions of how an offender is sentenced. Also, the judge would have no difficulties sentencing offenders and hence, it would take less time that could have been spent on further research on the circumstances or motivations of the crimes. Secondly, everyone would be aware of how severe the punishments are once they commit crimes and hence, fixed punishments would deter people from acting illegally.

On the other hand, it is true to argue that there are still factors influencing a crime that need to be taken into consideration, such as the circumstances and motivations. Obviously, people not always act illegally on purpose and there must be something triggering them or forcing them to commit a crime. For example, people stealing to feed their family have the lofty reason to do so and should not be punished as severely as others who steal for personal benefits. This way, considering such factors before sentencing an offender seems to be more humane and could encourage rehabilitations after imprisonment.

I strongly believe that a set of punishments is not necessary as it is an inhumane way of sentencing offenders and it gives them no chances of explaining. Instead, the circumstances and motivation of any crimes should be dug into for the legal rights of the committed offenders.

In conclusion, although fixed punishments seem to be beneficial in some ways, it is important to me that each crime should be judged taking both the circumstances and motivation into account.