Food waste is one of the biggest problems facing mankind today

IELTS Task 2 - Food waste

EVERY DAY, MILLIONS OF TONS OF FOOD ARE WASTED ALL OVER THE WORLD. WHY DO YOU THINK THIS IS HAPPENING? AND HOW CAN WE SOLVE THIS PROBLEM?

In recent decades, it is not an exaggeration to say that food waste is one of the biggest problems facing mankind. Given that this issue has the potential for significant environmental impacts, identifying the reasons is key to finding solutions.

There are various reasons why food is being wasted in manifold areas of the world. In developed countries, most loss occurs at the consumption stage when people either cook too much or do not use the food in time. Since food is abundant for citizens living in industrialized nations and they do not know how to use leftovers, they just simply dispose of them which results in food waste. Meanwhile, production processes are stages that mainly contribute to food waste in developing countries. Due to lack of modern technical devices in harvesting as well as storage and cooling, fresh foods could be expired quickly and no longer edible or free of hazards and food waste will often happen as a consequence.

Nevertheless, there are also a myriad of measures to mitigate this trend. First, raising awareness among people particularly in medium- and high-income countries is a useful solution to decrease the amount of losses and waste. For example, by using mainstream media, authorities can broadcast the benefits of saving food, especially for family's finances as well as for the good behavior of society, which could attract a great deal of audience's attention for this issue. Second, a strengthening of supply chain would help to reduce the amount of food waste, particularly in low-income countries. This focus should be on supporting farmers, investing in infrastructure, transportation and packaging industry so as to keep fresh foods last longer before they could be delivered to customer.

In conclusion, even though food waste seems inevitable in today's world, there are various way to improve this problem. Both developed and developing nations should take steps immediately before it is socially unacceptable to waste food.