"being forced to defend an idea" - my GRE essay

TOPIC : Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea."

The value of an idea, can be evaluated by the applicability or impacts of it on the public and for achieving that wide impression, the idea should have the capacity to fulfill different types of perspectives and answer the doubts and challenges that may be brought by those viewpoints.

A comprehensive thought, should consider its view from different angles, so that its strengths and weaknesses can be highlighted. But the point is, It is impossible for an individual to look on a subject with that much delicacy and covers all the possible challenges by its own. On the other hand there is a high risk of bias and inclinations so the new born idea, needed to be cleared from all those by being force of defending itself through the contrasting views. So, to establish a valuable idea, it should be presented to the public in order to be questioned and challenged. The novel view cannot convert to a valuable one, if it could not defend itself against different viewpoints. These argues help it to be polished and burnished.

Different experiences in the history show that, as long as an idea was established by one or a small group and it is decided to be applied on a broader range, like a community, without those polishes, the disastrous events happened. One of these samples is Marxism, introduced by Karl Marx that affected many countries like Soviet union and eastern Europe. After a while this ideology was questioned by its own audiences, but since the idea have became so much further than a simple concept and it have changed to a political base for those countries, it was not easy and it was so late to challenge that political foundation. So all those catastrophes just happen because of not considering the others contrasting views and ideas.

In sum, it is so obvious that "The all know the all", So it seems that as much as an idea opens itself to the others and having the dare to be questioned, it will have more chance to grow and being developed.