( IELTS essay) foreign visitors should be charged more?

In many places, foreign visitors are charged more than locals when they visit cultural or tourist attractions. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Tourism is one of the emerging industries in the world. The policy of charging more from foreigners than local people, viewed as discrimination by so many people while others accept it as being fair. In this essay, I will explain both views and say why I generally agree with foreigners paying more to visit cultural or historical sites.

On the one hand, charging more from the international tourists has many drawbacks. It irrational to charge much more, from foreigners because of their nationality. Nobody likes to pay more for the same thing. Besides, it will affect the peoples' travelling experience negatively. For instance, a foreigner should pay more money and suffer local peoples' harsh behavior by standing in the quae to visit a historical monument may spoil the enjoyment of the total trip. Moreover, the inequality in price will degrade the reputation of the local business, which in turn spoils the tourism industry. Tourist demands for the maximum enjoyment of their money. To compensate with the extra payments, they may become more selective in spending their budget on local markets. It further ruins the business. Once the tourist realize that the cost is high compared with other countries they may choose destination in other countries.

However, there are good reasons why oversea visitors should pay more. Firstly, it is expensive to maintain these tourist attractions. Tourists who are wealthier than the locals, visiting once in their lifetime should compensate to the cost of maintenance by spending few more dollars. Most importantly, if you are dreamed in your whole life to visit India's Taj Mahal, then you should ready to spend a little more for this experience. Secondly, a small increase in charge will not affect their budget. Thirdly, locals paid a lot from their salary as taxes for its maintenance. Lastly, the attraction of a cultural site is part of the local community's history and heritage. They should not pay to learn about their history.

In conclusion, it is important to meet money to maintain the cultural heritages. Local people should try to keep up a good reputation and wise use of their resources. I believe that, charge a little more from the foreign visitors is justifiable.