Formal examinations and assessments in university

The best way of evaluating student's knowledge

Essay topics:

Only formal examinations, written or practical, can give a clear picture of a student's true knowledge and ability at the university level. Continuous assessment like course work and projects are poor measures of student ability. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

My essay:

Some people believe that students' s capacity can be assessed accurately only by formal examinations, written or practical at University level while continuous evaluations are not. From my point of view, I don't think formal examinations are better than the regular because of these following reasons:

In the first place, we can't deny that it is unfair between theory and practice in formal tests. A variety of people claim that concepts make it easy and save time for both students and teachers. In fact, these are bald and difficult for students to understand as well. Consequently, learner's tend to spend much time studying all theories as well as ignoring pratising to cope with important examinations despite their feeling it intelligible and boring.

Furthermore, when doing an formal examinations, candidates often get nervous. This can lead to forgetting something central. To give you an example of what I mean, my best friend - who has just done an examination for gifted students totally failed although she is intelligent and very hard-working.

In addition, regular evaluations help much to follow students's progress particularly. Teachers may edit their own teaching ways for students to raise marks. Realizing ability and degree of understanding will impulse students to improve themselves. Also, students have a large number of opportunities to contact with several practical skills that can be important factors leading to success. For instance, beside holding formal examinations, there are more and more teachers give continuous tests to eliminate communal assessment about each student.

In short, to gain a high qualification, I think teachers should apply both formal examinations and assessments in classes.

I hope somebody can fix my essay to be better.