Formal "pen and paper" examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement

The following topic is from one website which is for practicing IELTS writtings

Many people believe that formal "pen and paper" examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement.

Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

exams and performance evaluation at school

Everyone knows that most of examinations for certificates or tests in school are all done by pen and papers. However, I side with the view that to carry out the examinations which focus on professional practices is more important.

Educational achievement is an essential step for the way to a workplace, so some tests is a proof of the experience in school and can show how much efforts you did for studying. Furthermore, the purpose of examinations in school is to make students acquire what they learn. Pen and paper examinations can not completely work it for the effect of learning because it is better to solve some solutions by actions and practices, not merely get the view or concept of knowledge. Learning needs doing by yourself, so that you can really get it.

While others are against of my view, contending that only pen and paper examinations can evaluate the capabilities of students for specific tasks or subjects. It is evident that the scores show the degree and level of examinees and that's their ability. It is true that the more scores you get, the more your level is. However, scores can lie sometimes. Answers can be filled in by guessing, cribbing or any improper ways. Only practices and applications can really show examinees know about solutions and how well they can do.

Overall, I firmly conceive that pen and paper examination is not the best approach to assess educational achievement.