Fossil fuel and renewable resources - IELTS task 2 essay

Fossil fuel, such as coal, oil and natural gas, is extensively used in many countries which cause harms to the environment. The use of alternative sources of energy, including wind and solar power, however, is being encouraged in many countries.

Is this a positive or negative development?

People have different views about whether it is better to utilize fossil fuels' energy for human consumption or renewable resources such as wind, solar or water. While there are some detrimental impacts in the use of wind or solar power, I would argue that using finite sources instead of fossil fuels brings more benefits to human lives

On the one hand, the use of solar or wind energy is more likely to have various cons to some extent. Firstly, visible strong energy like sunlight or a lake may have some extra effects which might severely influence the human race. Since those energies start from the prime resources of the universe, it is more inclined to form some alternate negative substances to our health, or even more, it will overwhelm our electrical devices. For instance, some houses in some countries were on fire due to the overwhelming technologies run by solar panels. Secondly, it is not relatively affordable for some developed or poor countries to own the number of technical machines to transfer the power into useful sources for our human consumption. As a result, they hardly catch up with developing and affluent countries and be obsolete.

On the other hand, I would claim that it is highly dominant to use more energy from the Sun or tidewater. Firstly, reducing the amount of oil, gas, and coal and encouragingly using the power from solar or tide energy might cut down on the running-out of those non-renewable resources. According to statistics, the recent UK's environment record is getting decreased due to policies for operating solar energy for human necessity. Furthermore, wind and solar power are more likely to be the most powerful infinite resources to keep providing energy for the necessity of human lives. If we do not take the action for that issue, the fossil resources will be used up soon.

In conclusion, while using renewable resources such as solar or wind energy is not a preferred option to some countries, I would believe that it would be the best method to save up the reserves from fossil fuels.