The foundation for sportsmen's success. PHYSICAL STRENGTH AND MENTAL STRENGTH IN SPORT

IELTS WRITING TASK 2:

Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In order to accomplish in sport, while many people claim that one must be physically strong, others believe that the focus should be on mental agility. In my opinion, I consider that physical strength lays the foundation for sportsmen's success on their fields.

On the one hand, it is sometimes thought that being physically agile is the basis of success and I agree. In order to reach the aspired level of physical fitness, sportsmen often subject themselves to a balanced, well-developed diet and exercise regimen. This is essential when it comes to physically demanding sports such as football, basketball, boat sailing, weight lifting which require a high level of stamina and endurance to perform well. Some sport stars, however, have even chosen to take shortcuts by using illegal substances such as doping to sustain physical condition and reach top performance which pays the heavy price for their career.

On the other hand, it is common belief that mental agility plays the prime role sportsmen's accomplishment. Failures and disappointment are common in sports, so it is vital that one be mentally strong to overcome these and achieve the best. If sportspeople can not foster a good spirit, they are more susceptible to successive failures and low morale. Another reason why mental strength is of great importance is that athletes can sometimes find workout tedious and repetitive. Therefore, they must be trained mentally to stay focused and sustain their motivation which will, consequently, produce better sport performance and output.

In conclusion, despite people having different perspectives, I believe that sportsmen stand a better chance to succeed if they are physically fit.