Four Ways to Tell If Your Roommate Is Using Your Computer without Permission

This summary is based on an article from wired.com, written by Michael Duran in August 2016. The title is how to tell if your roommate is using your computer.

This is article based on a reality while lived with another one in the same room. It called roommate. It can be one or more roommates. Talking about housemates, sometimes make someone happy, nice, and annoyed, worry and so on. It depends on the behavior of roommates.

They can eat the food, wear the clothes and sometimes scream loudly. Not only food and clothes, they can also use laptop or desktop with or without permission, even the password already set. There are the safe ways to keep the laptop or compute sleuth out.

1. Checking the Logs

The easiest method to know an assumed illicit user is to let the computer in sleep condition. When it leaved, check the "wake" log events when you get back. If you notice logged events for those times, that is a sign that somebody already used the machine.

According to Durian (2016), there are some ways which can be utilized to detect the computer from peculiar user. For Windows users, open the Event Viewer. Search in the Windows Log menu item on the right side. Right click on Systems, and finally you are able to see all activity on your computer. For Mac users, pursue the Console app, which you can use to view your logs. When it opens, you are capable of seeing "All Messages," and you scroll up to go back in time.

2. Checking Browser History

Smart roommates will delete their browser history when they're done doing in a web browser. But they could just be common sense enough to either delete only their own activity or use a private browser session. In this case, you can undertake setting up a web service, called OpenDNS. That is free for personal use. From your home network, it logs every web URL visited.

3. Software Solutions

You can catch the illegal user by using the Prey application. The software can track multiple devices, including Windows PCs, Macs, Android phones, and iOS devices. The software can inform where the device is located, send alert messages, lock the screen, and more over receive a snap of the person using your device. Try Elite Keylogger for Macs or Revealer Keylogger for Windows.

4. Using Cameras

If you dare to be extreme, you can use a secret web camera. The camera will allow you to see a live stream which is connected to your phone. The well-known indoor security camera is sold for $199 right now.