IELTS WRITING TASK 2: Framed pictures and photo sharing websites

Due to the popularity of photo sharing websites, it's no longer necessary to have framed pictures or printed photo albums.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In this day and age, with the craze for photo sharing websites, printed photo albums or framed pictures have taken a back seat and are deemed as obsolete. From my perspective, though these tangible memories are nowhere near as convenient or popular as their counterparts, classic photo albums still play an indispensable role and have irrefutable meanings in our lives.

To commence with, photo albums stir up a sense of nostalgia and act as meaningful presents. Just imagine you are parents of an inquisitive four-year-old child, an album is probably the best thing you can show them. A long-lasting album is not a mere object but a key witness to our changes in lives from newborn's first moments to family reunion or university graduation. Were you to feel lonely or desperate in life, a printed album would pave the way for a chance to reminisce about the good old days. Moreover, not only does it generate the feeling of nostalgia, it is also a thoughtful gift that will stand the test of time and together celebrate memorable moments. How great would it be if there were a soulmate accompanying us in our lives.

Lastly, printed photo albums outdo the social sharing sites in terms of credibility and longevity. It is common for the conventional community to regard photo sharing websites as forever. While there is some truth to this claim, we also need to prepare for the worst scenario and consider the likelihood of these websites' changing their retention settings or being hacked. Technology is evolving day by day but the photo album will be there forever, it will not disappear out of nowhere unless you destroy or do not take good care of it.

In short, the classic printed photo album has promising benefits such as longevity, credibility and a past witness. Therefore, it is nonsensical to underestimate its value and stop using it due to the popularity of photo sharing websites.