Free Art; positive artistic activities should always be encouraged

Hello, everybody. I am preparing my IELTS exam these days and I am a little nervous about it. Since I have graduated for more than three years, I really need some help with my writing and I do appreciate your comments and suggestion. Thank you very much.

TOPIC: Creative artists should be given freedom to express their ideas (words, pictures, music and films. However some people think government should take some restriction with them. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give your reasons with own knowledge and give examples.

Whenever we trace back the history of human civilisation, magnificent and breath-taking masterpieces in all sorts of patterns will definitely make us very much proud of our ancestors' power of imagination, innovation and creativity. However, whether creative artists should always be given the feedom to interpret their innovative thoughts into words, pictures, music or films, remains a controversial issue.

Although their rights to express their creativity should always be defended, artists are playing such an important role in society, especially among the adolescents, that somehow there should be government restrictions on what they create. Take the performing arts, behavioural arts to be specific, for example, which is now widespread through the Internet. Sometimes, the behavioural artists are going to far away from the bottom line of aesthetic values. Teenagers surfing on the Internet without parentally accompanied are simply exposed to some misleading images or videos which are usually hard for them to understand. Younsters see from these materials nothing but violence and pornorgraphy. On this kind of occasion, government restrictions are difinitely necessary to get involved.

In the meantime, however, there should be freedom to some extent for the artists to develop their creativity. The government should always spare no efforts to finance and thus encourage the artists to dedicate more endeavour to their creations. Our cities are in need of innovative architecture and sculptures. Human mind is in thirst of enlightening and think-provoking literature and music.

Creative, and more importantly, positive artistic activities, from my point of view, should always be encouraged. Government restrictions are, therefore, prerequisite to make sure that more civilasation legacies be left to our descendants rather than moral poisons.