IELTS TASK 2 - Free or not? Charged information makes a more sustainable development in a long term.

is it good to share all important information?

I will have my IELTS exam this Saturday, and i really need your suggestion!! :)

And my aimed score is band 6.5 in average so that I want to reach band 6-6.5 in my writing task!

I will be really grateful for any advice from you!

Question

Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

My answer

Information plays an essential role in our modern society. It is believed that information should be shared freely for the development of science, commerce and academy, but I think we should charge some money for the use of information, which is far more beneficial.

Easy-to-reach information allows various industries and researchers to draw upon the ideas on others and some real statistics. For instance, if merchants could acquire the preference of their customers, it would enable them to produce the popular products. Therefore, the limited resources and energies would be well used to avoid over manufacturing. At the same time, scientists and scholars are able to confirm whether their theories and study is realistic by comparing with the information from real world. It can effectively contribute to technological advance and theory breakthroughs.

However, some information is confidential to some companies. And without these information, the company may lose their advantage in the market. In this highly competitive society, it is important for companies to have their own core advantage to take up a share of market, therefore they have to keep some information , such as special recipes of restaurants, advanced technology of hi-tech companies and even market strategies of start-ups, as secrets. Charging for high prize of is a valid way to protect these information.

In my opinion, the sale of information now tends to be a new branch of the service sector's industry. Some well-known companies like McKinsey & Company mainly generate revenue from their information consulting company to cater for customer's different needs from company internal management to military strategy, so that free access to information cannot guarantee their constant income.

Overall, though free information benefits some house-skaters in our society, it is charged information that makes a more sustainable development in a long term.