Free choice of subjects to study - IELTS writing task 2 assistance

subjects in higher education

Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Decision about subjects in higher education is individual choice. Although, some argue that futuristic subject like Science and Technology should only be taught by universities, others, including me, believe that matured students should be given chance to follow their dreams and study what they desire.

Students at tertiary education level should have freedom to deciding their course which, in fact, is beneficial for the individuals and society at large. Firstly, it is better to give every single student a chance to explore their interest. In fact, if students are forced to study complex subjects as STEM, their overall performance will fall and ultimately their career might be destroyed. For example, I marginally passed few compulsory subjects in m Bachelor's degree like Chemistry which, I promised to myself, to never study again. Finally, subjects like Politics and Economics are as important, if not more, as science for deciding advancement and functioning of society as a whole. I don't think a scientist is well suited to run for a president!

On the other hand, research and innovation through science and technology is necessary for advancement of society. Even though demand for scientist and engineers are always on a rise, if every student is forced to read them, due to high supply of work force, demands and value might fall drastically. Secondly, although society needs explorer and engineers to explore new frontiers and rapid progress, it definitely needs lawyers and politicians to check and shape the direction of growth. For instance, genetic engineering is now into unexplored realm. Now, it is even possible to clone a human being. So, there is always a ethical and moral issue associated which should be properly discussed among fellow human being and rightly regulated.

In conclusion, on the light of above discussed reasons, I truly believe that every candidates should get chance to decide the subjects they study which is beneficial for both the individual and society as a whole.