IELTS WRITING TASK2 - Free Subjects Decisions?

should people learn whatever they prefer or not?

Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words

Nowadays, it is a controversial topic to discuss whether people should learn whatever they prefer or not. Some people acclaim that it is more flexible on study. However, some people claim that they should study subjects which will be useful in the future. I strongly believe that people should learn subjects that may utilize for their future's occupation which should put into first priority to study. The following essay will depict my point of view.

Studying whatever students want may be good news for most of them. They can abandon some subjects they are not good at or do not have any interest in. However, some subjects are essential in our daily life. For example, if a student just focuses on learning geology and ignores English subject, how can he read a text book which written in English? Furthermore, it may cause imbalance of student's ability which he/she has a great deal of geology information yet they cannot illustrate the information properly by words.

On the contrary, if students choose subjects which may assist in their future job, they may have a numerous opportunities to obtain a better position. For example, a well-known and affluent salary company is hiring an assistant who can speak English fluently. If a student studies subjects which related to language, it might help him to obtain this job offer more easily. This can reveal how important to study subjects that are useful for your future.

In summary, I would like to reaffirm my own opinion that students should be permitted to study subjects that will be helpful in the future rather than study whatever they like because it is easy to obtain a job and study whatever they prefer might cause imbalance of their ability.