Free trade across countries. Tuesday, October 4, 2016

The free movement of goods across national borders has long been a controversial issue. Some people argue that it is necessary for economic growth, while others claim that it damages local industries.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion. You should write at least 250 words.

Free trade across countries has long been a polemic issue. Many people believe that it is necessary for economic development. Just the same, others argue that free trade threatens local industries, both small, medium, and large industries. In this essay, I will discuss both views and state my own position.

People who support the free trade argue each country has the advantage that distinguishes the country from each other. For example, Indonesia as a maritime country has the advantage of marine products. Tuna fish, lobster, and seaweed exported to other countries that do not have a lot of marine products. The price of Indonesia's marine products become cheaper than local prices in export destination countries. This trade provides benefits for both countries.

Meantime, opponents of free trade claim that the unrestricted movement of goods and services causes damage to local industries. Free trade cause prices of imported goods become cheaper. People prefer cheap imported goods with the same quality as domestic goods. This phenomenon led to reduced demand for domestic goods and adversely affected the local industries. This condition causes the slowdown of economic growth, increased percentage of unemployment, and declining state revenues from taxes.

In conclusion, free trade has its advantages and disadvantages for the economy of the country. It may be a factor supporting economic growth. On the other hand, if it is not controlled by the regulator, then it becomes a disaster that led to the economic slowdown. Even though almost all countries have free trade, I believe that the government of each country has set up a policy to save the economy of their country.