Essay about free transportation 24/7

Q: The best way for the government to solve traffic congestion is to provide free public transport 24 hours a day and 7 days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

GOOD/BAD METHOD FOR LOWERING BIG TRAFFIC ON ROADS

Since traffic congestion has been a hot problem in many countries, some of them have published a regulation about free public transportation in order to alleviate the serious traffic jam and air pollution. But as far as I know, it hasn't implement successfully as it has a lot of drawbacks. I will talk about its disadvantages as follows.

Firstly, to implement the policy needs a supplement support from the government finance. Every year, the financial department should create a financial budget to cover all items of investment. In other words, the fee to provide free public transport would be put into the budget, which is costly. Normally, is takes several years to recover the cost by putting the railway system into use. So these countries try to solve the traffic problem through free tickets gave up at last due to the financial burden.

Secondly, the outcome still suspended even if our government have the ability to support the expense. For instance, in rush hours, the existing transport system is already run out with so many passengers surge into the railway stations and bus stations. I strongly believe that they would stop working if it's free to take to public transport. Also, a part of them will choose to drive again after going through the experience.

At last, applying for 24 hours everyday should be a waste of resources. Since the most serious time of congestion is on rush hours, so people won't take public transports at midnight when they'd rather drive a car for security. Worse than that, this kind of public places will be the shelter of homeless one without supervising.

In conclusion, although free public transport will attract a majority of people and prevent them driving a car, the huge financial burden and supervising measures would be an obstacle. Personally, I don't think it should be the best way to solve the problem.

A friend of mine wrote that for IELTS preparation but I don't even know where to begin to help her. Any advice would really be appreciated.