IS FREEDOM OF SPEECH NECESSARY IN A FREE SOCIETY. TO WHAT EXTEND DO YOU AGREE ? (250 words minimum)

freedom of speech essay

There is one famous saying by George Orwell : " If liberty means anything at all, it means the right to say what they do not want to hear" , which I completely agree with and I suppose the freedom of speech is necessary in an open society.

Human beings are those who have the emotions and the demand to share to one another. I believe that free of speech give chance for everyone the right to talk anything they would like in public as: newspapers. television channel, internet,.. Obviously, once people feel at ease to analyze the current affairs openly with friends, families, so people are satisfied with not refraining inside their heart the thoughts which may lead them to the tension and depression.

As long as people are encouraged to point out and report the crime and disseminate it widespread into community, many senseless activities may by prevented ahead . Inevitably, this activity needs a high consistency and firm determination from the reporter. Although the crime declaration is unable to help decreasing the criminal ratio thoroughly ,it contribute to people the bravery, resilience and gives them the courage to overcome the common fear.

Moreover, I think that a free society should have the compatible regulation on the freedom of speech to identify whether a speech is right or wrong on ethical standard. There is likelihood that some people autonomously declare fake news to deteriorate others' reputation . The misinformation may bring the devastating effect to ruin one's fame and may cause them the suicide.

In conclusion, freedom of speech is essential for all democratic authority which helps developing a transparent and justice-oriented society that all people ever dream of.