Ielts:60% of freshmen alter their major subject in the second year of university

Opinions are divided on whether high school students should continue to attend higher education or have one year off to work to get experienced. In my opinion, students had better go to university. There are several seasons to support my point of view.

Firstly, universities are good places for students to attain goals. That means they will know exactly what their dream job is. It is undeniable that at the age of 18, students are not mature enough to decide suitable subjects. Therefore, it is colleges that can provide them with a golden opportunity to find out their best one, and help nurture their ability. Because schools offer a variety of subjects, pupils can choose the disciplines that they are specialized in. According to a recent survey, more than 60 percent of freshmen alter their major subject in the second year of university.

Secondly, attending university help students to broaden their relationships, especially with excellent classmates as well as professors. In elite colleges, there are hundreds of talented people, which equips them with a chance to get a good job in the future. For instance, with the help of peer colleagues who are the employers of big companies or a good recommendation letter from their supervisors, students are guaranteed to have advantages over counterpart candidates to get a high salary occupation.

Defenders of the work experience that students can obtain point out that it is not too late for students to continue learning after one year. This may be true. However, I argue that hardly can they have passion to learn when they are working. In addition, the interval of the working period may make their knowledge of subject fade and as a result, it is quite difficult for them to catch up with the new information.

In conclusion, from the reasons above, I believe that continuing to attend further education is completely proper choice