What do you want most in a friend TOEFL

Hi! I am an international student and would like to get a feedback and a score from 1 to 5. The topic is:

What do you want most in a friend-someone who is intelligent, or someone who has a sense of humor, or someone who is reliable? Which one of these characteristics is most important to you? Use reasons and specific examples to support your choice.

Friends have always played an important part in the life of each individual. However, what is the most important quality that makes us choose someone to be our friend? In other words, what do we appreciate and want most in a friend? Personally, the quality I want my friend to posses is reliability.

The first and maybe most important reason for my choice is that we all have moments when we need help and if our relatives are not able to help us then we have to turn to our friends. For example, we may be living far from our family and we may have broken our leg. Then only our friend can help us get on the bus, walk the stairs, clean the house, wash the dishes, etc. If, however, we cannot depend on our friend then we will be in big trouble.

The second reason is that we can share everything with our "amigo", if we can trust him. We will be able to tell him or her what our problems are and will know that not only will he or she try to help us solve them, but he or she will also not tell other people about them if we think that this can embarrass us.

Finally, if our friend is reliable, then we can be sure that if we lend this person some money, then he or she will return it. In this way, we will not spoil our friendship with him or her and will even strengthen the bond between us.

In conclusion, no matter what other qualities your friend possesses, he or she needs to be reliable, because otherwise, when you need help, you may turn out to be on your own. It is like the old saying: "A friend in need is a friend indeed".