[TASK 2] Being friends with colleagues or not?

Question: Some people think a job not only provides income but also social life. Others think it is better to develop social life with people you do not work with. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Answer:

social life inside or outside the workplace

Whether social life should be built inside or outside the workplace is questioned by many. While some claim that being friends with individuals they do not work with is a better choice. I would argue that the profession that a person chooses can offer them both financial support and countless opportunities to develop their social relationships.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why a few individuals think that social life should be built with people who work in a different organization. Firstly, being acquaintances with ones working in other fields might broaden a person's knowledge that possibly help them resolve a number of their problems at work. For instance, a teacher can learn how to deal with disruptive kids effectively by asking for advice from a friend who is a child psychologist. Additionally, social relationships developed outside the workplace tend to last longer than those developed inside. In other words, since many employees have difficulties working in harmony with their workmates due to peer pressure, it is challenging for them to maintain purely true friendships. Therefore, by building social bonds with someone not employed by the same firm, people might avoid unexpected competition at work in terms of chances for promotion and distribution of responsibility.

On the other hand, it is my belief that not only does an occupation bring people financial stability, it also allows them to benefit from the social contacts developed gradually overtime. To begin with, it is an indisputable fact that most individuals obtain financial security from working. In fact, the money that a person receives on a monthly basic enables them to cover their daily expenses as well as improving their living standard. What is more, workplace friendships can either enhance a person's working productivity or contribute positively to his career prospects. That is to say, as friends at work often know each other's strengths and weaknesses, they can provide feedback and even recommend them for more promising jobs at other corporations.

In conclusion, while there are reasons why people should better have social life with ones outside their workplace, I believe that the job a person does can support them financially and more importantly, bring them fruitful relationships.