toefl essay: friends for fun or for giving help

There is nothing better than surrounded by good friends. You may look at some people and their friends with envy as they chat away happily and participate in activities together. It may be hard to figure out which friends are better when considering the friends who can have fun with and the friends that can get help from. From my perspective, the people who are willing to help me in the crisis time are much more cherished than who just want to stay with me to have fun.

First, it is easy to find abundant sources that make you entertaining and fun around you, but it is hard to find a true friend who can give you a hand when you are in need. What do you do when you are bored? You probably turn on the computer and play games or surf internet. Also, you can go outside play some sport. You do not need to have friend just for fun because there are many other activities to entertain you. However, what can you do, when you are in need of something that you cannot do it without some help from others? That is when you need a friend who can give you help when you need it. But when you need help, you need someone to help you. Like, in a school, you are absent one day, and teacher is going to discuss important materials for next test in class. No one really can help you to get that information even parents cannot do this for you. On the other hand, your good friend in your class can help you to have the information. He or she help you to understand the material and give you a note to copy. This shows that it is more important to select a friend who can help you when I need it whereas there are a number of source which can replace a pal whom you can have fun with.

Also, the friends who can be with you when you face straitened circumstances are true friends. There is a famous proverb that "a friend is need is a friend indeed." This sentence indicates that real friend will appear in the proper time, but the friend who just stays with you when you are in the top of life and leave you as quick as possible when you drop off the mountain is not a good friend. Friends for fun can be stay with you the short period of time and you may share good memories together, but are they really going to stay with you when you two will have bad memories? When you are happy and everything is going well, you do not see what is real relationship is because people will treat you better than ever. But when you are in bad situation and asking for help, they, who are not true friend of yours, will leave you because you are no longer benefit to them. But the real friends stay beside you whether good or not, and they never turn their back on you. For example, Helen Keller was a kid; she was frustrated for her blindness and deafness every day. However, her teacher came into her life, and things begun to change. Although, it was very hard for her teacher to teach Helen Keller to learn language, she went through all these difficulties because she truly loved her with all her heart. Finally, Helen Keller succeeded at last. If her teacher left her because of difficulties, Helen would never able to overcome her disability and learn language. Going through hardship together makes two friends bond stronger because they share same thing each other.

To sum up, it is good to have fun with friends. But it will be much better when you have fun with people who you love and you believe that they will not leave you no matter what. You can learn more knowledge and improve your life through the friends' help.