Should friends be honest to each other?

Hi everyone ^^

I'm new to this forum, and I decided to submit a practice essay I wrote for the SAT...

Assignment: Should friends be honest with each other, even if a truthful comment could be hurtful?

"Don't flatter yourself that friendship authorizes you to say disagreeable things to your intimates. The nearer you come into relation with a person, the more necessary do tact and courtesy become. Except in cases of necessity, which are rare, leave your friend to learn unpleasant things from his enemies; they are ready enough to tell them." By Oliver Wendell Holmes, The Autocrat of the Breakfast-Table.

"A good friend can tell you what is the matter with you in a minute. He may not seem such a good friend after telling." By Arthur Brisbane, The Book of Today

In my opinion, friends should be honest to each other, no matter how hurtful a thing can be. While this does not mean two friends can simply hurl insults at each other, it is nessecary for your friend to know if something is wrong with them so it can be fixed for his sake.

Oliver Wendell Holmes said that "disagreeable" things should be told to friends by their enemy. A friend in my opinion has the responsibility to talk to you, to point out your weakness and flaws and together help you to overcome that flaw in your personality. I believe that the nearer you are with someone, the more they should accept your flaws and vice-versa. However, should your friend is doing something that might potentially hurt himself or other people, you have the responsibility as a friend to tell him.

Of course, it does not mean that insults and making snide comments to your friends is helping them. There are many ways to approach a problem, depending on its magnitude. For example, I had a friend who used to wear very short skirts. Rather than giving her insults on how inappropriate it is, I gently told her that she should be aware that while short skirts give her more freedom, she is showing her underwear to everyone behind or under her. She immediately understood, apologized to me, and turned up the next day wearing a much more casual dress. In this situation, she accepted it as something said to her so that she can become a better person in everyone's eyes.

It is true that in another scenario, telling them the truth might make the friend angry and think that you are hi enemy. However, I believe that being honest to yourself and your friends is a must in order for long-lasting friendship to develop.

In conclusion, I believe that if something hurtful must be said to your friend so that he can become better, it should be stated frankly to him.