Friendship issue: Money is not always harmful

Borrowing money from a friend is an unavoidable situation. It is said that a friendship could be damaged or broken due to money. Personally, I agree with this statement. There are three reasons to support my opinion: superiority, resentment and failure to repay.

First of all, lending somebody money will easily leads to superiority of the lender. They will probably think they have just given someone a favor. For instance, I loan my friend some money because he/she is having financial problem. Consequently, I will be bossy and ask my friend to help me with my assignment. Every relationship is based on equality.

Secondly, people who borrow money might be unable to return. They have difficulties and sometimes they don't have the chance to explain. They need money for emergency of their families or they are unemployed. The inability to repay can get two best friends into an awkward situation and endanger their relationship.

Thus, the resentment is likely to occur. There are many circumstances that friends killed each other just because of money. Money have risked several relationships because of its power. The second reason could be the cause of anger. This is easily understandable because everyone has their own restricted tolerance.

Money is not always harmful for every friendship. Sometimes borrowing or lending money is a way to show our generosity. "A friend in need is a friend indeed". It can promote the relationships and we may take some advantages. However, I still think that money is not always safe for friendship. The superiority of the lender and the inability to give money back of the borrower will lead to resentment without difficulty.