Friendship with work mates - ielts task 2

Some people think a job not only provides income but also a social life. Others think it is better to develop social life with people you do not work with. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

relationship with co-workers

There are thousands of choices when it comes to socializing. While I understand why it is good to make friends at workplace, personally I strongly believe that more friends at work is a bad idea because of the distraction from work and the decrease in productivity.

On the one hand, making friends at work can beneficial as there are more support at workplace. Since friends always lend us a hand during the hard days, work may be completed better. Take me as an example; I was a waitress in a small restaurant and fortunately, I was close to a waiter called Mark. One day, as I had a sudden work from my family, I had to asked him for changing hours and he agreed without hesitation. As a result, I did not have to hear complaints from my boss. The aboved story illustrates that friends can help each other at work.

On the other hand, I argue that relationship with co-workers can be heavily distracted and affect negatively on productivity. We are usually full of energy when friends are nearby, leading to neglect from work. For instance, my sister worked in a comestic store with her best friend. All days, they chatted, cheated each other,... that made consumers feel annoyed and inconvenient. As a consequence, the sale of the shop decreased by 10% compared to last month. Therefore, both were fired as they were main culprit of making the productivity drop sharply.

In conclusion, although it is great to have a friend to work with, I would rather not involve in friendships with my work mates.