Funds for building a sophisticated railway network.

Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extend do you aggre or disagree?

road system vs railway network?

It is essential to building a sophisticated railway network in some countries, especially for those with vast lands. These governments believe that the railway is a cheaper way to transport massive products and travelers compared to cars or airplanes, producing less air pollution. However, from my point of view, building a broader and more convenient road network also brings us many advantages and can help increase the effectiveness of railway network.

As I see it, although train has become a quick transportation tool in modern society, it still needs assistance from the other vehicles. Investment in building an extensive railway or subway network in urban areas is very expensive and usually takes many years to complete. In the period, the traffic will become very rush and affect people's normal living. Even though encouraging residents to take trains to work or travel can help reduce energy consumption and air pollution, but the train lacks an ability to take the passengers to any place they want. Because it is impossible to build a railway network to cover every street and district in a large country, and this makes the decrease on willing of taking trains.

However, I believe that spending money on more well-designed roads and highways also can accomplish the same purpose as railways, moreover, it helps make a more comprehensive traffic network integrated with the train, bus, car and bicycle systems. For example, creating many cycling-only roads and bicycle renting systems for reducing inconvenience when people leave the stations, and this has been done in many major cities including Taipei, Kaohsiung, and Taichung in Taiwan. Another benefit is fixing and modifying structures of city road systems is considerably economical than subway systems. They do not have to dig a big hole or move a bunch of houses on adding a new track to connect a new emerging area.

In conclusion, train and railway are critical components in a country's traffic system, but it is costly as well. I think the governments should also pay attention to the road systems which can be used to improve the efficiency of the railway.