The funds are being exhausted un-necessarily, by the government - on the arts. IELTS Writing Task 2

IELTS Writing Task 2: Essay Writing- Review and suggest the band score

Here is the topic

"Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and this money could be better spent elsewhere.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?"

money on arts is wasted?

Response:

It is thought by some that the funds are being exhausted un-necessarily, on the arts, by the government and that this amount can be utilized in a much better way in other avenues. In my opinion, although it's important to promote the arts and, therefore, investing in it is definitely required, excessive spending on arts is counter-effective and that this amount can be better used in other areas.

On the one hand, it's imperative for the government to promote the arts and make sure that it has sufficient funds available to do so. Promoting arts and investing in it serves a number of purposes. Firstly, art is considered to be a matter of national pride and one's self-esteem and, it is closely linked to a nation's cultural heritage; investing in art, therefore, can give a boost to a nation's image. Secondly, a lot of creativity and imagination is required to develop the art. These are the important parameters that enhance the skills of an individual and may have a lasting effect. Lastly, investment made in the arts may result in the source of revenue for a nation which can be used for nation building and other development activities. A nation with rich cultural heritage and strong foundation in art can be attractive to the tourists from all over the world.

On the other hand, the funds exhausted in developing and promoting the arts, can be better utilized on other areas that may have a direct and lasting impact on a nation's well-being. For example, the money can be spent on developing the infrastructure and technology, promoting the educational programs, building the cost-effective healthcare program, etc. This would ensure the nation's progress and people will be able to live more fulfilled and satisfactory lives.

In conclusion, although it is really important to put enough emphasis on the promotion of the arts, thereby investing in it appropriately, a significantly larger proportion of the fund must be made available to those areas that will have a direct impact on a nation's progress, people's well-being, and their standard of life. It does not make a lot of sense to keep investing in arts when people don't have an access to basic infrastructure and facilities.