IELTS: Future science will make human almost immortal. Is that good?

lengthening humans' life span

Science will soon make people live up to 100 or even 200 years. Some believe this is a good thing while others disagree.

DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OWN OPINION

Opinions differ as to whether or not the excessive extension of humans' life expectancy thanks to advanced science in the future is beneficial. This essay will examine two opposed sides and put forth a personal view.

The massive prolong in the life span of people is a scientific breakthrough that helps keep multiple generations of families together. At the moment, a normal family only comprises of two to three generations which include grandparents, parents, and children. With the advancement of science technology, a future home will be able to gather members beyond the limit of grandparents. Some people consider this a positive impact because the more relatives alive, the more mutual support is available for each member.

However, there are valid reasons to back those who oppose. Such a development will put more burden on the younger generations. In order to sufficiently take care of the growing number of senior citizens, the young workforce will have to excessively increase their workload to earn enough money to support their families. Eventually, workers will run out of stamina and reduce their productivity at work. In addition, an issue of housing will occur. More elder people alive means more retirement homes needed to be built. With the residential areas have now reached a limit, there will no longer be enough room to shelter senior citizens.

In my opinion, helping people reach over 100 years old is not a good option unless they still have a 20-year-old man's energy. The world is already full of problems and therefore, putting more weigh on the shoulders of the younger citizens and consuming more living space seems to be unfavorable.

In conclusion, while it helps generations of many families stay together longer, I believe the effects that lengthening humans' life span brings are seriously detrimental.