[IELTS WRITING TASK 2]: A gap year between school and university

The topic: Some people believe that a gap year between school and university is a good idea, while

others disagree strongly. Consider both sides of this debate and present your own opinion.

My answer:

a gap year - is it a good idea or not?

Nowadays, there is an accelerating trend of taking a gap year amongst young people. However, whether it benefits students or not has caused a heated debate and I will discuss these both sides now.

On the one hand, going on a gap year may be unsafe for young people. This is because they are still immature person who do not have enough essential knowledge as well as strong nerves to dealt with problematic situation like kid napping or robbing. Moreover, some students without physical strength may be overwhelmed by harsh working conditions. Another issue against taking a gap year is the financial problem. The cost of travelling as well as accommodation is indeed noticeable so that students have to pay a large amount of money which is mainly from their parent's budget.

On the other hand, it is obvious that for most students, the main purpose of going on a gap year is to acquire more actual experiences as well as soft skills which are barely gained at school. This is because these fruits may result in success in the future career of students who will enter the workplace and earn a living. Moreover, taking a gap year can also benefit the society. For example, many young people join voluntary campaign for undeveloped countries, especially those in Africa, to support the residents there. This action is not only a chance for students to experience real-life difficulties but also a rewarding contribution to improve the low living condition of poor people in other nations.

In conclusion, I feel that it is very useful to go on a gap year because of the benefits it brings to students and maybe the society. Meanwhile, this should be done with careful plan to avoid risks that may happen.