Gender equality at schools controversial topic research

An equal number of male and female students in every subject at university

equal rights and options to study

Gender equality has become a controversial topic in a variety of issues including employment, administration, job promotion and even education. When it comes to education, the majority of people insist on the similar student numbers of each gender in college courses. The others claim that students should be given the same educational opportunities regardless of genders. In my opinion, I do not agree with the idea of admitting students into college based on sexes.

Firstly, all students both male and female should be offered the equal opportunities when it comes to university options. In fact, most of the students only find themselves interested in their studies if they literally enjoy what they choose to study. Specifically, many college courses tend to attract one gender more than the others. For instance, most of the male applicants seem to be unfit for nursing courses as they are not able to be patient and careful like women to take care of patients. Therefore, it will be unfair to base admission to university subjects on genders.

Secondly, no one should be excluded or limited to pursue what they enjoy to study at universities. All students should have entitled to access in every subject rather than being equal numbers of genders on every course. In fact, the proportions of students applying for their universities should base on their eligibility instead of genders. By this, I mean students are capable of performing well in what they study if they pursue the right dreams, choose the right majors or set the right goals regardless of sexes. This is why the admission of students into colleges based on male and female has been not encouraged these days.

In conclusion, students should be given equal rights and options to make a decision about what they are passionate about to study. There may be some subjects popular with female applicants but not with the male ones. Besides, students' academic performances do not depend on genders but their own qualifications. Therefore, universities shouldn't set a fixed limit on the proportions of men and women on all college courses