Gender imbalance in classes is still proved to be acceptable

The issue whether universities should balance the number of male and female students or not remains controversial. Some claim that students are bestowed on benefits if the numbers of men and women are equivalent while others support the opposite idea. I am totally persuaded by the latter.

Proponents of the former argue that equal quantity of male and female students has positive impacts on students' thinking. Every one has the same status and privilege, avoiding the gender discrimination. However, it is proved to be flawed when it comes to the concept of discrimination. Universities should choose worthy students according to their performance and competence instead of their sex. What if a student with accumulative knowledge and remarkable achievements is refused just on account of her sex? It again raises a question of unfairness and discrimination, definitely.

Another idea in favour of equal quantity of male and female students is that after a long epoch of women's liberty movements, women now have the equal and equitable right in comparison with men's, say, in education. Nonetheless, hardly can we witness a gender balance in all classes or subjects. What is the nature of this issue? It is palpable that there are some certain subjects which male or female students can explore and develop their strengths as well as talents. To illustrate, men can dive in the world of natural science, IT and the like whereas women may find their imaginations fly away in immortal masterpieces of Picasso or Tolstoy. Therefore, is it fair and plausible when skipping students' quality and true desire in virtue of harmonizing the gender balance?

When all is said and done, after having insights into the problem, gender imbalance in classes is still proved to be acceptable. The fact that we should evaluate a student by his capability needs to be taken into consideration instead.