'Give good lectures' - what qualities are required of a good teacher?

3/7/2012

Name: Le Thi Thuy Trang

Topic: what qualities are required of a good teacher?

Task: In recent years, it has become more and more common for people to be aware of receiving a good education. And teachers features in training children, teenagers and even people in their early maturity. In my opinion, the ability to give lectures, empathy and fairness are the three most significant qualities that prevail among many necessary ones that a good teacher needs.

One of the most important factors is the teacher's ability to give lectures, which unarguably is the first criterion for parents when they have to choose a school for their children. In most cases, were the teacher to be capable of conveying his lessons to his students, it would be a real success both for him and his students. In other words, he is likely to be given credit and/or make a name for himself for his achieving occupational aim. This will help students grasp the lesson thoroughly. For example, rather than always making lectures, a good teacher should allow his students to learn the lesson by participating in several extracurricular programs. By this way he can breathe a new life to the long boring lessons so that his students might find it interesting. This ability is a primary skill that a good teacher requires.

Another major personality trait that helps mould a good teacher is empathy. Firstly, besides the role of teaching lesson, teachers are often also parents. In general, the students themselves are not always mature enough to behave properly and sometimes are really stubborn. As a direct consequence, the teacher has to find the way to handle the students' trouble in a gentle and affectionate manner. This is why he will invariably be there for his students and truly be ready to lend his ears to them when they need someone to hear them out. More interestingly, it is often true that sometimes a teacher is thought of as a friend they can confide in for a lot of matters, not least puppy love_ a very common phenomenon in school life which is usually ridiculed as nonsense by parents, and sometimes teacher. In most cases, the teacher should regard his students as little friends so that they might build a mutual understanding of each other, which really encourages his students to place an implicit faith in him as well as totally focus on the lessons.

The last aspect to point out is the fact that a good teacher is requested to be fair-minded. As a matter of fact, regrettably true, many students at times felt to be left out in a class because of not receiving as much care and attention as their peers. Consequently, they have tendency to be distant towards others, especially their teacher, let alone being willing to learn the lesson taught. Of the utmost importance, a teacher is expected to get round to minding all students, otherwise, someday, gaps between them will grow so big that nothing can fill them. At any time, fairness should be shown equally to every student in a class.

As indicated above, I am totally convinced that a good teacher requires a good ability to give his lectures to his students; his empathy will enable him to be closer to his little charges, not to mention that fairness makes a teacher lovable to his students. To conclude, these qualities not only make a teacher a good one but also have a positive influence on students, especially their willingness and attentiveness to heed the lessons.