IELTS: Globalization has both advantages (economy) and disadvantages (diseases)

Globalization has both advantages and disadvantages.

Discuss both and give your opinion.

In the society with advanced technology, the world becomes closer and globalization brings many benefits in the economy and other fields, but also some drawbacks. In my opinion, I believe globalization has its own disadvantages besides its advantages, but globalization is the key to developing the international economy and improving the quality of life for people worldwide.

One economic benefit to having globalization is that it would give more opportunities for trading. Free trade makes the world smaller, which means there are more exchanging goods between countries. In other words, the global market will be more flourishing and competitive, which is beneficial for the customers to have lower costs of products. Another advantage is that there is the spread of technology and innovation which is a good chance for local companies to access brand new technology from all over the world, so there are more job opportunities.

On the other hand, there are some obvious disadvantages from globalization. Firstly, in an open market today, people are easily vulnerable to infectious diseases that can affect numerous people in a short time. Secondly, growing society based on globalization negatively impacts the environment when people destroy forests because of the need for more spaces for manufacturing and housing. Transport systems and goods production lead to air and water pollution. Lastly, the job market will be more competitive that may cause losing local jobs and more people will be unemployed if they stop learning and catching up with the world.

In conclusion, globalization has both its benefits and challenges in the long run. Except from the drawbacks of globalization, I think globalization is a necessary step for international economic development and better life quality for people.