GMAT AWA ; Common notion, workers are genreally apathetic about mgmt issues is false

'The common notion that workers are generally apathetic about management issues is false, or at least outdated: a recently published survey indicates that 79% of the nearly 1200 workers who responded to survey questionnaires expressed a high level of interest in the topics of corporate restructuring and redesign of benefits programs'

Discuss how well reasoned.

The editor claims that the notion that workers are disinterested about management activities is not true. In fact, he gives us an example to show that it is quite the opposite. In part I agree with him. However some of the finer points need to be looked at before we can agree with the editor.

As the author has stated that in a polish survey, of the 1200 participants, 79% were interested in topics of corporate restructuring and redesign of benefit programs. Broadly speaking this is true. Most big organizations generally have some form of employee feedback program through which they ask their worker about organizational reforms. These programs generally get very strong feedbacks. Some even take the opportunity of corporate events like seminars or marathons to let their corporate leaders know what they feel. These clearly indicate that the workers do infact want to be a part of the management decisions.

The management too, in their part tries to include the workers in their decision processes. For example, when one of the refineries of the global aluminium giant ALCOA (Aluminium Corporation of America), started losing money in 2011, the regional CEO, actually created a forum and asked for all the workers opinion on how to keep the refinery afloat. It was an earnest plea, which made many of the workers propose radical solutions and make serious sacrifices.

In most cases, in fact the worker's interest towards management decisions only strengthens as they move up the hierarchy. They look for ways to improve the business processes, even if it's only in a very small way, so that newer recruits do not face the same problems which they have faced. Contrary to what people may think, most workers feel that they are part of an organizational family and it is their responsibility to do whatever they can for their organization.

However, one may not always agree with these above reasons. Sometimes, the workers do feel apathetic towards management decisions. But more often than not these will be cases when there are some serious grievances towards management. And if the managements were to have serious discussions with these grieved employees and redress their issues, then these scenarios can be very easily resolved. It is the management's responsibility as well to not allow their workers to be apathetic towards their own decisions.

I therefore conclude that, a good management will in all probability make the workers seriously interested in their corporate decisions. While it is true that all decisions cannot be taken in consultation with workers, it it's important to not assume that since the workers are not part of the process, they are apathetic about the end results. I can with all my heart endorse this conclusion as I too am working for an MNC.