IELTS WRITING TASK 2: IS IT GOOD TO CHANGE?

Some people prefer to spend their lives doing the same things and avoiding change. Others, however, think that change is always a good thing.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is always some time in life when people have to decide about changes. Some people believe it is always better to experience something different while others believe not. In my opinion, both attitudes have their benefits and drawbacks.

People in favor of change may argue that it is very boring to do the same things throughout their lives. Routine jobs and life styles are more likely to make people less passionate and creative, resulting in lower efficiency and productivity. At the same time, people do not always make right decisions in the first place. If they choose a life or a career which does not suit their personalities or skills, they may lose chances to reach their potentials by remaining at the same status. On the contrary, changes do not only mean new experiences, which tend to have positive effect on people's motivations to live and work, but also mean progress in salaries, positions and living conditions. For skilled workers who have been stuck in a position for a long time, it is very sensible to seek other employers who may provide better opportunities.

On the other hand, there are still many people who prefer not to change, especially when it comes to their jobs. The first reason is that doing a job for years can make people some kind of specialists, who are more likely to be promoted in the same company. Secondly, some companies attach great importance to the loyalty of employees. Those who change jobs frequently may have difficulty in gaining their trust and being employed again. Thirdly, to change a job means a fresh beginning on many occasions. It is not easy for some people to give up what they have had and start from scratch in a different place, especially for those who prefer a steady income.

To recapitulate, the advantages of change are the disadvantages of being stable, and vice versa. People can just make their choices according to their own aspirations and situations.