A good leader today can listen to people and let them engage in the decision.

TOEFL task2: An effective leader will make others feel like they are a part of making decisions.

I talk about this topic in three different fields. Will this work? Or I had better to think about some good/bad points about the topic then discuss each of the point? Tell me your idea. Thanks!

We often talk about leadership plays a very important role in today's success. So what's good leadership? Some people may think a great leader can ask a bunch of people to do what he ask, however I tend to consider that a good leader today can listen to people and let them engage in the decision.

Parents teaching children can be viewed as a kind of leadership. Some parents are often annoyed when their children grow into teenagers because they sometimes don't listen to what the parents ask and like to do the opposite. A smart mother won't just make her daughter to do what she like. Instead, she will make it a rule to ask her child's opinion. My sister is this kind of mother. She always let Tim, her boy, to make decisions like learn what kind of instrument or choose where as their family's vacation place. As these decisions are made by Tim himself, he tends to put have enthusiasm to do learn the piano or have more plans on vacation.

This is also true in a student union. Students have their own minds. They won't just listen to the people who is the same age as them. The president of the student union won't make all the decisions all by his own. If he does that, who will choose he as the president next time? The clever student will make a survey to all the students such as what kind of competition we will hold? Volleyball, basketball or soccer? Then when the outcome is basketball, students who don't like basketball won't complain anything as this is the choice of all the people and students who love basketball will be excited as they will play what they like.

In the workplace, this is definitely true. All the workers want their voices to be heard, especially the one who care about the company. My colleague, Adam, told me when he was in his former online education company his boss is such a nice person because he could think of every worker's suggestions. Once they hold a meeting to brainstorm some new ideas about what to do next for the company. Adam just graduated from college at that time and he knew nothing about the online education industry. On the meeting, he said what he thought that the company should cut down the videos into small pieces and each piece could tell a little bit of some big concept as people today wanted to learn something but often failed due to have no large amount of time. His boss considered his idea was reasonable. And finally his suggestion was elected to actually be worked out. Adam, of course, was so excited. He then was assigned to operate the function. He put quite a lot of energy on that because he thought the function was his idea and it's like his baby. On contrary, his new boss never let the normal employees take part into any discussion of the company. He had no idea about what the company was going to do and felt lost. Soon he quit the job.

Today, leaders are not the people who have the loudest voice, but the people who will let everyone make their own contributions to the group. This is true in schools, in family education, in workplace and in many other circumstances. Because if people feel participate in the decision, they will have more enthusiasm to work.