IELTS TASK 2 - GOOD METHOD OF FINDING TALENTED PEOPLE

Televised talent shows have become popular in many societies today.

Are these shows a good method of finding talented people, or are they just entertainment?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, majority of inhabitants are very keen on watching TV program regarding the human's skill. Most citizens argue that this program to find someone who have a good talent. I strongly believe that this is only for entertaining people and get the attention from the out lookers.

The audiences assumed that those competition aims to attract potential talents with a good skill, since they hope that these competitions will able to determine the best nominee. For instance, in United State, there is a popular singing contest namely "American Idol" where there are many contestants which present their ability. It is good opportunities for a number of people from all backgrounds of work. The most important, they have tremendous talent in singing, all the candidates are no charged anything. This fact proves that this competition is good for searching the appropriate talent.

Nevertheless, I strongly believe that the television programs are created not only to find the great talent but also to raise the rating. So the event will trigger the number of viewers to watch that programs. The crucial problem is assessment system determined by the people who send the support from short massage. This way can made opportunity to do some fraud because the system is not measured based on finalist's ability and just count the number of supporter. An illustration for this, the runner up of Indonesia idol namely Novita who has a beautiful voice as per panel failed to be a winner by the reason of she did not get enough vote.

The aforementioned reveals that in spite most of audiences believe that talent event on the television publish the new person with extraordinary skill, I don't agree with that opinion since some TV stations only use it for commercial purposes.