IELTS-good news/bad news? whats the best?

QUESTION:

News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it he better if more good news was reported?

ANSWER:

The development of science and technology has immensely helped keeping people updated about the world they live in. The credit of this awareness goes to the power of media. News has become a quintessential part of the routine and has a significant effect on the mass it connects to. Everyone wants to know what is going around the world.

However, the news shown daily is a sensitive task which needs meticulous efforts. Both electronic and print media have editors to make the final call. News editor's decision for showing a news depends on a lot of factors. The editor has to keep in mind the profit maximisation. The circulation and the TRP of a news is the most important factor. Also , the mass of people a news will connect to is also important. For instance, the news of Tom Cruise signing for Mission Impossible 4 flick is irrelevant for a villager. Thus every news targets a certain strata of the society.

Some wise man once said, "Evening news is one where they begin with 'Good Evening' , and then proceed to tell you why it isn't". As soon as one watches a news channel its always full of terrible things happening around. News channels show these bad news as they are very sensational and thrilling. Bad news keeps everyone interested and hence increases the circulation and TRP. However, too much of bad news makes us sceptical and paranoid. To create spicy news, paparrazzi intrude people's lives and also sometimes defame them. This kind of approach is not justified. People are becoming used to bad news because of all these sensational news.

Winston Churchill once said , " There is nothing as public opinion, there is only published opinion". The media can use their power to good effect. Good news creates optimism and peace and harmony. It can be used for social awareness and also for knowledge enhancement. However, in today's scenario , good news might not be very successful. It is not thrilling all the time. Good news gives inspiration but can not keep people, who seek spicy news, interested.

Thus, its the duty of the editor to keep a check on what they publish. News can misguide and inspire both, depending on what is published. The world is not a perfect place to live, bad things are ought to happen. But the media should take the responsibility of creating awareness for fighting the evils , and not spice up or manipulate the facts for their selfish purposes. The sole objective of media is social awareness and supporting the truth, this principle should be followed by every news channel or newspaper.