It is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research

Please help me with my writing task 2

Topic: Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Discuss both views and gives your opinion.

Many people argue that sharing information in scientific studies, business and academic areas is necessary in modern life. However, others believe that free information should be available to certain extent. Both opinions give out the advantages but I personally agree with the latter one.

There are several explanations for the benefit of free materials. Firstly, if the basic academic knowledge was not spread out over the world and passed down to younger generations, many meaningful inventions were not come up with. For example, theories related to friction are known as fundamental application in building transportation. Secondly, the freedom of information helps people address the problems more quickly. When people encounter an issue, searching for solution online would enable them to take advice and lessons only if the knowledge about previous similar case was shared publicly.

However, it is true that not all the information in terms of science, business and academic world should be freely available. The case of knowledge about weapons and nuclear power exemplifies for this perspective. If such secrete information was leaked out to every citizen, the number of serious criminal and terrorists would increase exponentially and unstoppable. Moreover, researchers, scientists, idea creators living on the payment from their intelligent works will be harm if all these invisible materials are free. They will no longer have motivation and health to conduct research as they have to find other jobs which help them get by.

In conclusion, freely accessing to academic, business and scientific information fosters the development of society in a certain way but it also brings undeniable drawbacks. Hence, the knowledge should be treated rationally, certain types of information need to be preserved as confidential.