ielts writing task 2: TOO MUCH OF A GOOD THING CAN BE BAD - overwhelming number of choices

Question: Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices. To what extend do you agree or disagree with that stament.

TOO MUCH OF A GOOD THING CAN BE BAD

As human lives evolve, people strive to make it more comfortable and easy. In order to do that, humans have created a society where everything is optional and one can choose whatever they want in life. However, too much of a good thing can be a bad thing, with some saying that in today's lives we have an abundance of choices. I completely agree with that statement.

The reason for this phenomenon is rather straightforward, as explained above. Humans strive to make everything simpler for them, thus they created things that aided them in everyday lives. This explains why technology has never been more advanced than ever before. The advancement later on led to the embarrassment of riches that we are currently suffering. Humans now have more food, entertainment services, occupations,..to choose from.

At first glance, having multiple options seems like a good thing, but research has shown that when humans are presented with an abundance of choices they tend to be subjected to a syndrome called analysis paralysis, which means one gets paralyzed or stumbled when they have to draw a good decision from the presenting choices. For example, one goes to a supermarket to buy a particular object, a bag for instance. When they get there, they see that the supermarket sells multiple types of bags. Since that person just needs to buy a bag, with no specific preference, they are forced to pick from this array of options. Struggling to make a decision, they become paralyzed and unable to choose. This situation occurs not only in daily life activities but in social settings, relationships, and more.

Examples for having too many choices in life are evident. People are experiencing them everyday. Like in dating, we once only had few options but now with social media we know more people and that means more people to choose from. Or watching tv, we once only could watch what was on tv due to cable scheduling but now with streaming services we can watch anything at any time. With buying products, we have websites to increase our options, with entertainment, we have the internet to cater our every need. Our choices are increasing day by day due to the improvement in life.

All in all, compared to the restricted life of the past, today's lives offer humans a more satisfying life, because people have more to choose from. Everything has become more convenient. However, humans are not equipped with a mind set that can analyze multiple choices, this creates problems when they are presented with numerous choices. And like the saying, too much of a good thing can be bad.