Government budget for art is argued by a few as a waste of money - rightly or wrongly?

IELTS: Importance of Arts

Some people think that government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

Government budget over art is argued by a few as waste of money. At the same time, some advice to redirect the share of the spending to other programs. I totally disagree with this point of view. This essay will prove it by using arguments and evidences.

The advocates of arts have believed that art has always been associated with culture and heritage of a civilization. Different art forms like classical dance, folk dance, classical music, paintings are the epitome of dated events and mythology of a society. Often this builds one's pride for his nation. It is said that Tamil society in India is so proud of its culture that despite being part of a majority Hindi speaking nation, it has kept its identity intact by working towards the support and upliftment of their art forms. Thus, art has always been a binding factor for any ancient culture.

Another reason to support art is the revenue it generates for the economy by means of tourism. Historically, cities with most number of art galleries and monuments with beautiful designs attract most number of travelers. Louvre Museum in Paris as well as the galleries full of surreal art in Vatican is the dream destinations in everyone's "must visit list before you die". Tourists' foot-falls generates jobs in Hotel industries and at the same time augments to a nation's gross domestic product.

After discussing these benefits, we can safely conclude that allocating money for art will actually help generate revenue back to the economy as well as it will be beneficial to a society's identity for the generation to come.